Great Expectations…..

9 May

I wrote a blog post a while ago about the Animas 2012 Sports and Exercise weekend and the huge benefits and effect that it had on me, and my view of my Diabetes. In fact, if it had not been for my attendance at that event, The Grumpy Pumper would not have existed. Don’t blame them too much please…..

So. I have been lucky enough, and feel very privileged to have been invited back to the 2013 event. This time as part of the Animas team. In fact, I will be one of the Animas Heroes for the weekend. Given the company that I will be keeping with the other Animas Heroes, I am left wondering what makes me worthy of such a name? The other guys have swum the English Channel, run across the Sahara Desert or completed amazing sporting events. I, in my opinion, ride a bike a bit.

Having spent a lot of time contemplating why I would be classed as a hero, or what constitutes one, I have realised that, for me, it’s a simple answer. If you are a Person with Diabetes, Child with Diabetes or care for someone with Diabetes, then you live Diabetes. But above all, day in, day out, you BEAT Diabetes. So if you want to look a true hero in the face, then look in the mirror. One will be looking straight back at you!!!

I have great expectations of this weekend, and know that I will not be disappointed. I’m looking forward to meeting new and inspiring people, along with some great friends that I made last year. I will never again underestimate the value of meeting other people with diabetes and will always actively seek to do so as often as possible.

The motivation has already started too. Thinking about meeting over 50 other Type 1’s makes me want to go there with flat line Blood Glucose levels within my ranges. But above all I want to help the delegates leave feeling as motivated as I did last year.

Well, not my usual style of blog I’m afraid. A bit more serious than usual. Sorry, normal service will be resumed shortly, where I will be moaning about “Type Zero’s” and generally taking life less seriously.

I have had some great feedback from a lot of people on past blog posts. I never look to give advice; just share what goes on in my Grumpy mind. It looks like this attitude has helped some people, which makes it all worthwhile. So I intend to blog more often, and am looking into ways to reach a wider audience.

So if you are one of those that like the Grumpy way then please remember my view.

If you’re still standing then you’re still winning!

And above all #NeverLetDiabetesBeatYou

Animas Logo

3 Responses to “Great Expectations…..”

  1. oceantragic / KevW May 9, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    Nice one Grumpy.

  2. Rosie June 1, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m quite surprised at your son’s treatment here. I’ve had a couple of operations in recent years and have always been put on the ‘sliding scale’ (like a pump I think) even though it was not major surgery (in and out of the operating room in less than an hour and home the same day) and my blood glucose levels were under good control prior to going into hospital. This kept my blood glucose levels nice and steady whilst I was in theatre and had no major problems later in the day. Maybe you could ask about this if your son needs to have any other surgery (though fingers crossed he doesn’t!).The last thing you need to worry about when having surgery is high sugar levels!

    • Rosie June 1, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      this was meant to be posted on the blog about stress and surgery – sorry!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

