Bad Attitude….?

13 Feb

It’s been a while since my last blog. Why? Well, I can’t think of anything to blog for long enough about. So this one may be short…..

We have all probably had this one at some point. “Oh, I couldn’t have Diabetes! I could never inject myself!…..” When told this I have several choices of response:-

1. Explain the difference between the Type of Diabetes and how they can me managed. That not everyone has to inject, etc., etc., etc….

2. Tell them I didn’t get a choice, sigh, look at them in disgust and move on.

3. Say, “Well, I actually did have a choice and elected to inject”. When they reply “Oh really???”. I respond “Yes, it was that or DIE!!!!!” (This response is the one currently in use).

4. Kill Them. (Currently illegal, immoral, blah blah blah, so best just pretend in your head quietly).

So why share these random thoughts? Well for starters I can’t afford a therapist so this is the cheap version. Also, since joining Twitter as @Grumpy_Pumper I have been thinking about my attitude to my Diabetes. Some see to like it, some not so much. Which is fine. After all, we are all different. We all have our own way of dealing with our Diabetes, and we have two things to deal with.

1. The physical side, BG, HbA1c Hypo’s etc.

2. The mental side. Our attitude to our Diabetes. How we come to terms with it. How we live with it. Our relationship with it. And for me. How I fight it and win!!

So a bit about me. I have always been:

• Grumpy
• Stubborn
• A tad sarcastic
• A bad looser. A really really BAD looser!

And (again for me on a personal note) I think this is what makes me fight my diabetes and win on a daily basis. So these are some of my beliefs (fully understanding others may think they are total bollocks rubbish) about my Diabetes.

• The sole purpose of MY Diabetes is to Kill me! (I get that most people don’t like this, but it’s how I need to look at it. As a bad looser, I will fight it every day to stop it achieving its goal).

• I do not have bad Diabetes control. Given my view in the point above, if I don’t wake up dead, I successfully controlled my Diabetes from achieving its goal.

• I do not control my blood glucose levels. I manage them. I manage them to the greatest of my ability every day. It’s just some days (for many reasons) that ability differs.

• I will never give up! If someone invaded my life against my will, tried to take it over, control me every day until it killed me, I would fight to the death. This is no different.

• I will laugh at my Diabetes every day. It’s what keeps me sane. Well, less insane anyway.

• I do not fear my appointments (I am lucky and have a good team) they are there for me to get advice, not to be told. If I choose to try out that advise (or not to), it is my choice. It is MY Diabetes. Oh and if they do not like my HbA1c, then tough! They have to live with that number for about 20 min. I do 24 x7.

• If I manage to help just one other PDW deal with their Diabetes in a positive way, then it was worth it.

Basically, I think I’ve watched all of the Rocky films way to many times. And there is one quote from Rocky Balboa that I think of in relation to my Diabetes:-

“The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!”

Anyway, not a very short blog in the end was it? #NeverLetDiabetesBeatYou

5 Responses to “Bad Attitude….?”

  1. Reva February 13, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    I really liked this post. For some reason, your comment about diabete’s sole purpose being to kill you really struck me. I don’t disagree, but I never really thought about it like that. It kind of feels like a slap in the face, but it also makes me even more determined to not let it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Scott E February 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Love the third bullet about managing, not controlling blood sugars. But as any manager ultimately finds out, sometimes the ones you manage don’t listen.

  3. julesedwards1 February 15, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Loved reading your blog Grumpy! Such a positive attitude, YOU are in charge of diabetes, not the other way round. I may read this every day as my mantra until I start thinking the same 🙂 x

  4. theperfectd March 7, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Love the insight. Love the attitude. Hate the diabetes. (We have so much in common!) From across the pond (don’t you hate that phrase?), my hat is off to you. If I was wearing one.

  5. Rachid April 9, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    I laughed at the “i could never inject myself” one. I did, and still HATE needles. But I don’t actually associate needles with injecting myself any more. Its a strange feeling!

    Its like, being afraid of spiders, and jumping if you see one in the wild, but also owning a spider that you play with every day!

Leave a Reply

