If I Ruled the World

11 May

Change World

So. If I could change the world what would I do??

 

Easy! Abolish gyms, make smiling illegal and raise the recommended alcohol limit to whatever it takes to make you fall over. Twice.

 

Oh….. You mean in terms of Diabetes?

 

Well. That’s easy too isn’t it? Cure it!

 

Ok, so it’s not that simple is it? Nope. Because apart from a cure (10 years kids, just 10 years) what we want for our Diabetes care and management is an individual choice. A choice based on what we consider to be important to us, for our quality of life.

 

So, if I could change the world, the 2nd most important thing to me is for every PWD (regardless of Type) to have choice.

Choice of the method in which they manage their Diabetes, without having to fight for a pump, or being judged for wanting to be on MDI.

Choice of the meter they want use.

Choice of how often they check their BG without having to beg their GP for strips.

Choice of how they engage with their HCP.

The choice to manage THEIR Diabetes the way that THEY want to!!

 

The first?

Well. That should be easy!

Free Insulin. For everyone, everywhere!

 

Live Long and Bolus

Grumps.

11 Responses to “If I Ruled the World”

  1. Colleen May 11, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

    Thanks for the giggle! And – I so agree with the matter of choices.

  2. Karen May 12, 2014 at 1:44 am #

    Ooohhh, choice is a GREAT one!!!! And can I add having the choices be free from judgement, because what is right for me is probably not right for you and that is totally okay. We each need to choose what works best for us.

  3. Laddie May 12, 2014 at 1:17 pm #

    You make it seem so simple. Maybe it is:-)

  4. Kate Cornell May 12, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    Great post! I wish you ruled the world. 🙂

  5. Kelley May 12, 2014 at 4:01 pm #

    Wow, this is a great response! Although I liked the idea of raising the alcohol limit as well 😛

  6. endocrinegremlin May 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

    Reblogged this on endocrine gremlin and commented:
    I don’t usually reblog things but this is important and so very true. Choice is the thing diabetics are denied and then we are crucified for choosing the best we can and not getting the results OTHER people want.

  7. Kim May 12, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

    I like how you think.

  8. Melissa Lee May 12, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

    Brilliant. Freedom and Free insulin. What’s better than that?

  9. Angie May 12, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

    Great post! Choice is so important, and such a crucial foundation to living with diabetes. I think it’s easy to forget how all these little things add up to make life with diabetes easier or harder, depending on whether we have them or not.

  10. t1dme May 13, 2014 at 2:39 am #

    I absolutely agree with you. My limited time spent in the DOC has made me realize just how much diabetes varies between people. What works for one person might not work for another. It is therefore inappropriate to take a cookie cutter approach to treating PWDs.

  11. kelly2k May 17, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    You have my vote!!

Leave a Reply

