20 Shades of D

26 Aug

Diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes 20 years ago today. It’s been……

 20 Shades

The Strip

I remember the first strip.

She took me through it.

Showing me what to do.

She was gentle, but firm.

First time it took 15 seconds, now it only takes 5.

Now I do it alone, sometimes in public, I don’t care who sees….

(Testing Blood Glucose 8-10 times a day)

 

The First Prick

I was a bit nervous.

I didn’t know where to put it.

How big would it be?

Would it hurt?

How deep would it go?

How much fluid would there be?

(Started on 2 injections per day of mixed insulin. Moved to MDI a few years later)

 

A Full Load

This time she wanted more.

A full load!

She wrapped something around it.

I felt it tighten.

A slight pulsing.

Then it throbbed.

The veins stood proud.

She took it all, but would be back for more tomorrow…..

(Full bloods from arm. Wonder how much taken in 20 years)

 

Insertion

Was fed up with so many small pricks.

Needed something that lasted longer.

Something that gave me more control.

Something that would stay in for longer.

It went in hard and fast, but stayed in as for days….

(Insulin Pump infusion set looked scary, but I prefer it to MDI now)

 

Double Insertion

I struggled with this one.

Could I stand 2 a time?

I’d have to pay for it. Would that be right?

I took the plunge.

Made my request and paid my cash.

Wasn’t sure if I liked it, but got strangely addicted.

I can’t take it twice in the same place, it gets sore.

I sometimes get a nasty rash, so use protection.

(CGM – Expensive, I get a rash off the tape sometimes, but I’ve found it useful in managing my Diabetes)

 

Live Long and Bolus

Grumps

5 Responses to “20 Shades of D”

  1. Ellen August 26, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    Happy diaversary Grumps! Just a few years ahead of me…

  2. Mrs Vimes August 26, 2014 at 4:39 pm #

    Spat my coffee all over my iPad. Total class. Never realised how raunchy us diabetics where!
    Happy anniversary!

  3. Katy September 2, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    This is fantastic, bold, hilarious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Around the Diabetes Blogosphere - August 2014 Edition : DiabetesMine: the all things diabetes blog - September 1, 2014

    […] friend The Grumpy Pumper over in Europe marked the 20th year of type 1, with a clever poem entitled 20 Shades of D. Happy […]

  2. Welcome back - August Best of the 'Betes Blogs | Moments of Wonderful - September 2, 2014

    […] Use of Humor: The Grumpy Pumper takes a … unique… approach to celebrating his […]

Leave a Reply

