“There’s No such word as Can’t!”

11 May

Right.

This is going to be a short post due to being exhausted after an amazing weekend away with 50 people with Type1 Diabetes learning about sport and exercise.

Oh.

Not sure that staying up until 4am at the bar helped.

So there you have the first one!

I can drink all night, have 3 hours sleep and still wake up with a BG of this (and you can’t beat a good 6.9 before breakfast can you?…..)

ASW BG

Anyway.

Whenever I hear my kids say “I can’t do that”, my Dad’s voice in my head says “There’s No such word as Can’t!

Of course there is. It’s in the dictionary!, But as I now know (and did then but would never give him the satisfaction of admitting it) he was just telling me that I can. I can do anything I want. Maybe not easily. Maybe not first time, but I can do it.

This has stuck with me through my life. I don’t believe I can fail. I may not get the level of success I planned, but I will never fail. I may not do it first time, but I will never give up. I may not achieve things immediately, but I will keep going, chip away bit by bit until I get there.

Those words in my head were loudest on 26th August 1994, when at the age of 25 I was diagnosed with Type1. I never doubted that I couldn’t do this. Never doubted that I’d not tackle it head on. I definitely didn’t realise what it involved and how hard it would be, but I knew I would never give up!

So.

I can:

  • Manage my Blood Glucose every day (sometimes it goes to plan, often it doesn’t, but I can do it).
  • Live the life I want to lead, the way I want to.
  • Achieve my goals however small they are.
  • Take the lead with my health care team, because it’s MY Diabetes.
  • Getting back up when it knocks me down.
  • Eat pies, drink beer and still have an A1c of 6.8%
  • Laugh at my Diabetes
  • Put my Diabetes in its place (after all, I can survive without it but it can’t survive without me!)
  • Change the world! (well, mine at least)

Ok, off to kick my Diabetes arse for the day.

Nice one Dad!

Grumps.

13 Responses to ““There’s No such word as Can’t!””

  1. Dave B May 11, 2015 at 8:07 am #

    Grumpy – this is brilliant, following your weekend on Twitter has been fun, although I wish I had been there again. If only for the Saturday night out!
    Did you share your Type 0 thoughts with the group again too?
    Keep posting your thoughts – because they make us smile, they resonate with Type 1’s and they encourage too. Nice One

  2. Frank May 11, 2015 at 9:20 am #

    A 6.9 after a late night out? I might have to get out more often! Thanks for sharing, you are very lucky to have your father to encourage you and motivate you

  3. Karen May 11, 2015 at 12:26 pm #

    Your dad sounds like a very smart man!! And yay for drinking all night!! 😉

  4. Mike Hoskins (@MHoskins2179) May 11, 2015 at 12:33 pm #

    I’ll definitely raise a mug to that one — Cheers, to being able to never give up and succeed no matter what life and D throws at us!

  5. Laddie May 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm #

    I always got told “Can’t never could.” Not trying was never an option. Sounds like you’re got a winning attitude for life in general and for sure life with Type 1.

  6. Ally May 11, 2015 at 4:59 pm #

    Cheers to all of the above! 🙂

  7. kelly2k May 11, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

    Like father like son!
    CHEERS!

  8. Kelley May 11, 2015 at 6:53 pm #

    Haha, I love that you point out that you can have pies and beer and still have a good A1C. I would change it to cupcakes and wine but I think that’s the best “can” I’ve read all day 😛

  9. Liz Wedward May 11, 2015 at 7:50 pm #

    You’ve pointed out something we all need to remember. We may not be perfect or succeed on the first try. But if we keep going, always remembering that we CAN, we will get there. We have to keep “chipping away” until we get there!

  10. type1diabeater May 11, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

    I love this!

  11. Bruce May 12, 2015 at 12:35 am #

    I really enjoyed your post!
    I have dealt with Social Services telling me with authority that diabetics cannot drink beer, very frustrating. Finally got a letter from my endo that after 30 years of consuming beer, there is no ill effect!

Leave a Reply

