Driving My Diabetes…….

2 Jun

My name’s Jeff Grumps, and it’s been 12 months since my last blog post.

Ok. That’s confession out of the way!

Well, the quick version. You’d be here for months if I owned up to everything…….

So.

My son turned 17 last month, and in the UK that means he can learn to drive a car. The foolish child young man is has blind faith in his father (according his birth certificate, that’s me) and asked me to take him out for his first few lessons……..

I’ve no issue with this as (you already know this) I’m offensively unstressable.

However, it’s been a bit of an education. After decades of driving, I just get in a car and drive. It’s all fairly automatic, I go through the motions. Use the functions and features of the available to me (steering, gears, sat-nav, parking sensors, indicators). Take in all the information that’s around me (traffic flow, cyclists, road signs the dick head other driver that cut me up on the roundabout). I put all this together and calculate the best thing to do in that given situation. The end result is that by a combination of luck, judgement and calculated(ish) risks taking, I arrive safely at the other end. Some journeys are easier than others, some longer, but in the long term the outcome is the same. I’m safe and where I need to be.

In order to show the boy how to drive, I have had to be more focussed on my own driving, eliminate any bad habits. The result being that I’m more careful and possible safer (or at least less unsafe).

Kind of sounds like my life with Type1……..

It’s all fairly automatic for me. I have the tools and information I need to put it together and calculate the best thing to do in that given situation. The end result is that by a combination of luck, judgement and calculated(ish) risks taking, I arrive safely at the other end.

Its time I have a period where I am bit more to be more focussed on my own diabetes, eliminate any “bad” habits. The result should be that I’m more careful and possible safer (or at least less unsafe).

For me, in life, with my diabetes:

Some journeys are easier than others, some longer, but in the long term the outcome is the same. I’m safe and where I need to be.

Live Long and Bolus

Grumps

Leave a Reply

