Diabetes on Strike

14 Jan

 

So the other week the station staff on the London Underground (The Tube) went on strike for 24hrs meaning most of the stations were closed.
I usually have a 4 mile Tube ride through London, which i am not a massive fan of.

Why?

Because its public transport!

Why don’t I like public transport?

Because I don’t like the general public!

Especially before I’ve had coffee!……
Id already decided to get into London early and walk the 4 miles.

For the record. I do not like early either!
I kind of manage my Diabetes “on the fly” and tend not to plan things in too much detail.

Sound irresponsible?

I guess it could do, but in my head I’ve got 22 years of doing this shit stuff to fall back on so will be ok.

Also I’ve planned what I’d do to manage my BG’s in detail, but, my BG’s don’t follow plans….
I’m lucky enough to have an insulin pump and CGM so dropping Basal rates and quick checks of BG are mad easy and allows me to manage my levels on the move.
So in short,  I did a fuck load lot of walking and kept my BG’s in range.

No Hypos on the way there.

Dropping fast at the end of homeward walk, but what better excuse for a McFlurry right?
And this are my FitBit stats for the day…..

You wondering why I’m telling you this?

(Assuming you have actually read this far….)

Well.

I did a fair bit of exercise.

Burnt a lot of calories.

Kept BG’s in range.

Used less insulin than usual.

And I totally fucked up fucked up my feet!….

Blisters, cuts and sore as hell (which given they are numb due to neuropathy isn’t great)

Its ok. They will be fine. I’ve been dressing them and looking after them and they are on the mend.

I’ve learnt a few things though.

Diabetes management is not just about my BG’s, its about the whole me.

Sometimes I need to plan, even if its just wearing the right shoes.

I don’t hate public transport as much as I did.

However I’d prefer the public not to be on it…..

Live Long and Bolus

Grumps.

2 Responses to “Diabetes on Strike”

  1. Elizabeth F. January 16, 2017 at 1:14 am #

    I tend to do my diabetes management on the fly as well. I too have learned, especially after becoming a mom, that slight planning here and there really does help. I like this post because we seem to have figured out the same thing. Take care.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finding My Feet | The Grumpy Pumper - January 21, 2017

    […] I said I’m my last blog post they took a bit of a […]

Leave a Reply

