Another Bloody Diaversary Blog

25 Aug

23 years ago today (unless you are watching on +1 or catch-up) my Type1 Diabetes was diagnosed with me.

Seen stuff recently asking “what would you have done differently?” or “What would you tell yourself if you could have?”

So here goes:

I was 90% sure what was wrong but I kept delaying going to the doctors.

So what would I gone earlier knowing what I know now?

No

Why?

I was a stubborn bastard then

I’m a stubborn bastard now

 

It didn’t worry me in the slightest

Would I react differently?

No

Why?

There was no drama.

No emergency.

My T1D was lucky enough to spend 25 years without having me inflicted on it, and I’d got as far down the path to so called adulthood as I was ever going to go.

I was the kind of person that is offensively calm about everything

I still am now

 

I didn’t involve any family, friends or work colleagues in any way

Would I if I went back in time?

No

Why?

I didn’t like people then

I don’t people now

 

I could go on but it’s all going to be the same

Would I do anything differently?

No

Why?

Because I’m the same person now that I was before diagnosis.

It has not changed me.

It never will.

I won’t let it

I don’t live with Diabetes, it lives with me!

I would however have made sure I was wearing shoes when I left hospital. The sudden realisation that you are crossing the road still wearing your slippers makes to feel like a total knob…….

Live Long and Bolus

Grumps

One Response to “Another Bloody Diaversary Blog”

  1. Rick Phillips September 4, 2017 at 1:14 am #

    Well just to let you know you are not alone. I was sick at Disney World and my parents decided to stay in FL instead of coming home. Two weeks later I was DX’d and my blood sugar was astronomical. Now here’s the fun part. My mom knew the reason I was sick, she was a T1.

    Still, it was FL. LOL

    43 years later I still laugh at the idea that haunted castle was way more important than a super sick kid.

Leave a Reply

