Taking Heart – 25 Years and Counting….

25 Aug

25 Years of T1D

 

So today (26th August 2019) marks 25 years since I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes.

A lot has happened.

Technology advancements.

Lots of learning.

Finding my community.

Accidental advocacy.

Diabetes related complications.

My son’s diagnosis.

But that’s all in the past.

 

Right now, there is one overwhelming feeling.

That time has gone fucking quickly!

 

So, what about the future?

Right now, I’m ok with my diabetes management.

More ok than I ever have been and maybe a blog post on why will be written soon.

So, the future there looks good to me.

 

I care very little about statistics but two stand out for me today.

I’m 50 years old.

I’ve now had this half of my life and the older I get the faster time seems to go.

I have some very definite plans for what’s left of my life.

So, I need to make sure I take steps to be around as long as possible.

Steps to minimise the health risks that increase with age and are upped more by the length of time I’ve had this condition.

Priority one as of today is my heart.

I kind of need it.

My focus is not driven by fear nor by diabetes.

Family history of heart issues and strokes is addingup and that’s for family members that tick few or none of the at-risk boxes.

Of course, I can stick an added chunk of risk on what’s already there by having T1D.

 

No point in me making statements and promises of what I’m going to do except that it’s top of my list of things to discuss at my annual review next month and we’ll take it from there.

 

I learned a long time ago that living well with diabetes is not just about diabetes and I plan to be doing exactly that for at least another 25 years!

 

Live Long and Bolus.

Grumps.

5 Responses to “Taking Heart – 25 Years and Counting….”

  1. StephenS August 25, 2019 at 9:59 pm #

    What is it about this year that so many of us are now marking half our lives with diabetes? Personally, I think it’s fantastic compared to what the statistics might have been for us a generation or two ago. Congratulations on 25 important years.

    • grumpypumper August 25, 2019 at 10:17 pm #

      Thank mate. Year 26 needs to include meeting you.

  2. kelly2k August 25, 2019 at 10:57 pm #

    Time is a thief and you are awesome.
    Stick to the game plan you and your team are creating and celebrate all that is Grumps today…. and every damn day.
    Cheers to you, Grumps~

  3. Rick Phillips August 25, 2019 at 11:42 pm #

    I changed my ways about 25 years in and I am happy as can be with that decision. I hope it turns out as well for you as it has for me.

    I am at 45 years and the fact that you are now at 25 years means you are gaining on me. So, I am off to record my next year and put some distance between us again. So here is to June 21 when once again I will regain my 21 year lead in the race, you never knew you where in. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bad Habits | The Grumpy Pumper - September 27, 2019

    […] blogged recently how I need to look after my heart so this needs to […]

Leave a comment